Mexican Rice & Bean mash up 

This was so delicious and easy to make. I love left overs and this made excellent left lovers. 

This is vegan and gluten free but full of taste. 

I did change this to suit my taste and to add a more flavor. I’m also a huge onion fan and add them anytime I can. 

Here is the original recipe: Mexican Rice and Bean Skillet

How I changed it up: 

  • Sautéed 1 whole diced  sweet onion with the green bell pepper until the onion was translucent and starting to release sweetness. Used sunflower oil and pink Himalayan salt. If you want this to be oil free sauté with just salt on a low temp. 
  • Made brown rice the day before and heated it up before adding to the skillet. This prevents the rice from getting mushy. 
  • For topping I used colorful small heirloom tomatoes, avocado, mild Pico de gallo and Hampton’s Just Ranch. 
  • For the hot sauce I used Sriracha sauce. If you do not want it really spicy omit any sauce and lower the amount of chili powder. 
Leave a Reply

